This website uses cookies to enhance the user experience through added social media functionality, statistical analysis, and select third-party services. See the Privacy Policy for more information.

About RAID Technology

RAID (Redundant Array of Independent Disks) is a technology for data storage, which combines multiple Hard Drives into a single logical storage unit. Data is distributed across the Hard Drives according to the RAID configuration (Level), depending on what level of redundancy and/or performance is required.


                           raid                                 raid array

Basically there are some standard RAID levels/schemes which are well known such as RAID0, RAID1, RAID2, RAID3, RAID4, RAID5, RAID6, but many more variations (combinations of two or more standard levels or non-standard levels) have evolved because of the need of more efficient and reliable storage. Some standard level configurations are shown in the table below:


LevelDescriptionMinimum # of HDDFault Tolerance
RAID 0 Block-level striping without parity or mirroring. 2 0 HDD
RAID 1 Mirroring without parity or striping. 2 n−1 HDD
RAID 2 Bit-level striping with dedicated Hamming-code parity. 3 1 HDD
RAID 3 Byte-level striping with dedicated parity. 3 1 HDD
RAID 4 Block-level striping with dedicated parity. 3 1 HDD
RAID 5 Block-level striping with distributed parity. 3 1 HDD
RAID 6 Block-level striping with double distributed parity. 4 2 HDDs

                                                       Most common RAID Levels (standard)
raid levels

                                                       RAID Level 50 (combination of RAID 5+0)

RAID Combinations

Copyright © 2022 Data Revive Lab Services Ltd | All rights reserved | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy                                                                                                                                Web Design by DRL Development Dept.

Powered by Joomla 1.7 Templates